write to cope

fountain pen in hand / her words dance / across the page / eliciting / catharsis
♦     ♦     ♦     ♦     ♦

Sometimes when all else fails to divert my attention, I just write. It doesn’t matter about what. It’s more like the writing controls me rather than the other way around. And I let it. The freedom of writing this way is expansive. Sometimes it’s called free writing. Whatever you call it does not matter. It’s the intent that is most important. When all else fails in scramming the tension, writing is a powerful instrument.

If you have never tried it, I invite you to sit down in a comfy spot with any kind of pen or pencil and a pad of paper. I have a friend who said she didn’t think she had a pad of paper around because she does not write anything if it’s not with her computer. That’s fine, too. If you prefer, you can write electronically just as easily. Personally, I would recommend the pen and paper route at least to start. You may disagree, but I have always found that I absolutely need the feel of the pen (fountain pen for me) in my hand and the words flowing across the page. You do not need a beautiful pen or journal—but, then, again, why not. You may find yourself drawn toward that beautiful leather-covered journal with gold gilt pages and beginning your own personal tradition. Personal preferences aside, just write with whatever you have. After you are hooked, you can choose the medium that suits your needs.

5 6 7 8
© 2004-2010 Donna Peach. All rights reserved.
Leave a Reply

