anemia from bone mets

two shawls wrap / my body / need another / or maybe I should / turn on the heat
♦     ♦     ♦      ♦     ♦

SoCal is having a very cold spell. Yes, early this morning the temperature dipped below 50 degrees. Imagine that. I hear the scoffing from you in much harsher climates. Being a die-hard Michigander, though, often shoveling snow as early as the middle of October and as late as the end of March, I totally understand. One of the last years I lived there, I remember wearing wool suits to work in June and thought that if I ever left for a warmer climate, I would not turn back. That’s exactly what I thought when I got to SoCal, though, of course, I did have a couple of other reasons to stay here.

I used to be the one in the office who was always hot. Since the cancer returned as bone mets, it affects the production of red blood cells. For that reason, my oncologist says, I will probably always be anemic. Once in a while my readings hover at the low end of the scale, but most of the time I am below. Although they said it cannot hurt for me to ingest iron, it does not really help. When it gets too low, the remedy is either a transfusion or a treatment to stimulate my body’s production of red blood cells.

At least, while I am on hormonal treatment, and not chemo, the anemia is less severe. But I am now always cold. No matter where we go or what we do, I bring a sweater or a shawl. At home, I keep a shawl at my desk and on the sofa, and often wear both, even when Marvin says, Are you kidding? It’s really comfortable in here.

So after brewing my current favorite tea, a cinnamon rooibos, and breaking down and turning on the heat, I am able to type without the distraction of the chattering of my teeth.

5 6 7 8
© 2004-2010 Donna Peach. All rights reserved.
3 responses to “anemia from bone mets

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention anemia from bone mets | Donna Peach -- Topsy.com

  2. Hi Donna,
    I’ve been following you for just a little while, since I found your site about 10 days ago. You’re an amazing woman and I’m really sorry you got hit again! I’m an Inflammatory Breast Cancer survivor so I’m familiar with all this treatment stuff.
    Have you tried Guided Imagery? It certainly can’t hurt, and it might help. I used it very effectively to keep my white blood cells up, and when I became borderline anemic I added imagery for that and the red blood cell counts came right back up.
    Take a look at http://www.healthjourneys.com. They have everything! Or, you can e-mail me and I would love to offer what help I can in that department.
    Keep on dancing, sister!
    Elizabeth

  3. Turning on the heat when it’s 50? You’re going to have to turn in your Michigan card 🙂

    Sorry to hear what the disease is doing to you. But also impressed by this website — you’ve done an amazing job of putting together resources and information (but I’m not surprised, you always do an awesome job at whatever you do!)

    Keep fighting and know I’m thinking good thoughts about you!

Leave a Reply

