rethinking activity goals

Is Sitting a Lethal Activity? By James Vlahos. In The New York Times 4/14/11

This article makes an interesting point of interpreting the goal of activity. Instead of thinking of the activity as the goal, we might think of the addition of non-sitting moments during the day, not to be confused with running, jogging, working out or even walking. Just do something other than sitting.

Maybe thinking this way will help alleviate that feeling of failing because even my walking is at a pace that can be described only as a non-pace. I have changed and am continuously changing, but part of me that has always been competitive, especially within myself, still fights the urge to critique my performance. When I was out with my walker the other day, I kept trying to find someone walking at a pace slower than I. I decided I would lose that thought and concentrate on enjoying the fact that, at least, I can walk, period. When my surgeon put in the titanium to support my back after removing the cancer damage, he said the surgical team was both surprised and happy that I was not paralyzed from the waist down. Sometimes now I just have to remind myself that it is just fine to be slow.

5 6 7 8
© 2004-2011 Donna Peach. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

