finding beauty with self love

some days i dare not
look in the mirror at my
pudgy deformed self

tight-muscled body
that once occupied this frame
now slack and bulging

seeing my image
“who moved into my body”
momentarily

but i know it’s me
despite the awkward changes
i accept myself

some days self-pity
bangs the door till its hinges
barely stay intact

shouting from a place
deep inside i refuse to
allow intrusion

self-pity be gone
i banish you from my house
only love lives here
♦     ♦     ♦     ♦     ♦
5 6 7 8
© 2004—2011 Donna Peach. All rights reserved.
2 responses to “finding beauty with self love

  1. Wonderfully creative and healing poem ~ hugs and namaste to you ^_^ ~ You have great courage ~ and Living takes courage as I am sure you know.
    Stopping by from Creative Everyday
    Hope you will come visit: A Creative Harbor and other blog is Share the Creative Journey~ namaste, Carol ^_^

  2. I am a fellow survivor, since May 24, 2004. I have lived your poem and your thoughts. Right now, I accept that I have dfferent sized breasts, and hope that if noticed, may start a conversation for awareness and hope.

    I came by from Creative Everyday as well.

Leave a Reply

