Xgeva 16, exemestane fails, on to Xeloda®

I can hardly sit up to write. We started this morning with my treatment appointment at the infusion center at UCIMC. Chao is still rehabilitating the infusion center there, so we go to the main hospital still after about a year. I have become used to the surroundings there, distant as they are, but I am anxious to see what the new center will look like when they complete it over at Chao’s second floor where it was before.

Today was another one of those days of good news and bad news. The good news is that my trip to the emergency department is proving fruitful, and I am healing from that diverticulitis attack. Also, the cervical spine showed no cancer infiltration, only the overlap of the fracture from T1, with cancer, that pushed the disk out of whack between C6 and C7, causing it to intrude into the spinal canal and spinal cord. The repair was completely successful, and I am also healing well, apparently better than expected, on that note, too. The discomfort level today is much higher than yesterday as now all of the effects of the medications that kept all the pains at bay have worn off. I feel the sore throat, the pains from the restraints, the feeling of bruising and so on, typical of what you feel after surgery. Still, it is tolerable with my own pain medications, which I am using regularly to control the break-through that keeps occurring. I have finally found sugar-free hard candies, which help keep my throat moist, and my glucose readings at between 200 and 300. I am hoping it will reduce below 200 tomorrow. Diet consists of very low carbs in an effort to guide that effort.

The not-so-good news is the cancer is rearing its ugly monster head with aggression. The exemestane is not working for me at all, so we are going to switch to chemotherapy, Xeloda®, which was what I expected would happen in the event the hormonal treatment failed. Dr. Mehta prefers to use the aggressive route when the cancer shows that edge, so as soon as the insurance company approves it, I will be popping this treatment, which is a pill form of chemotherapy, three times a day, for a week with a week off. She said the protocol usually calls for two weeks on and off, but patients seem to do better, shown here at UCIMC and Memorial Sloan-Kettering, so that is what I will be doing. I already know the side effects of chemo, so I won’t bother citing it here. We will see what comes of it as I move into the therapy.

I need to sleep now, again. It seems that has been the greater part of my time lately.

5 6 7 8
© 2004–2012 Donna Peach. All rights reserved.

4 responses to “Xgeva 16, exemestane fails, on to Xeloda®

  1. Prayers to you Donna. Sleep is good. Hope you feel a bit better tomorrow. ♥

  2. I am so proud of you Donna. I am so very glad that surgery was successful. Step one…dance and twirl. Ready for chemo, well that’s just another step, dip and lunge. I picture you as a dancer that has fancy moves much like one would have fencing while wielding a rapier. Instead of a toe tap it’s an appel which is stamping the front foot to the ground to produce a sound to distract or startle the opponent.
    Picture it well, I can…time to lunge and appel and stab the cancer to death. Touche!
    kisses, too 🙂
    ~shel

  3. I am so glad that you are healing well from the surgery. Continue to get the rest that you need so that you continue to heal in all ways. I hope that the new plan will bring you good results.

  4. Keeping my fingers crossed for you – fast healing, gal!!
    xoxoxoxoxox

Leave a Reply

