waffle maker: my new toy and a recipe for you

wholesome with each bite 
subtle flax seeds and cornmeal
gustatory bliss

♦     ♦     ♦     ♦     ♦

Time today to make more waffles, which I tested yesterday with a recipe from the Internet combined with the one in the waffle maker manual. Today, I used my own recipe. It was a delightful success, per my official tester, Marvin. The flavor of the waffles was superb, a touch delicate with some tooth from the flax seed and bran that I would usually toast. Today I did not toast the bran, but the results were just as good. Sometimes I like to take a recipe down to the nitty gritty and do the bare minimum to see what it yields.

Although the extra steps of toasting the nuts or seeds or bran or whipping the egg whites into a separate fluffy mass might yield a very subtle difference, it is not worth it to me when I can barely stand five minutes. When I am conserving energy, it gives me a thrill to know that I can retain the extra energy by avoiding the extra steps. Today’s results with the waffles were a good demonstration of this.

In case anyone is interested in my recipe, here it is. I cook by my own touch and feel, so all of the quantities and most ingredients can be tweaked a little this way or that. Have fun creating your best waffle meal.

Belgian waffles by Donna Peach

yields 6 waffles in my waffle maker; your results may vary; prep time: 15 minutes; cook time: 4 to 6 minutes per waffle depending on your waffle maker and setting

Sift or mix well the dry ingredients all at room temperature

  • 1 c mixed flours, e.g. all-purpose, whole wheat, cornmeal, almond, rice (for good results portion out flours:  3/4 all-purpose, 1/4 other)
  • 2 T bran, toasted or not
  • 1 T flax seeds, ground in a mortar and pestle or coffee grinder
  • 1 t baking power
  • 1/2 t baking soda*
  • 1/2 salt
  • 1/4 c sugar (omit entirely for a savory waffle)
  • 1/2 t cinnamon
  • 4 T buttermilk powder (I love this stuff)*

*If you do not have the buttermilk powder or regular buttermilk, substitute milk (good time to use dry milk) and omit baking soda.

Mix well wet ingredients all at room temperature

  • 1 large egg, whipped
  • 1 c water* (substitute equivalent milk if not using powdered buttermilk or dry milk)
  • 1 t vanilla or almond or other preferred flavoring; or omit

Add wet ingredients to dry and mix until just combined. Adjust so that the consistency is like gravy by adding T (a tablespoon) at a time of either liquid or flour. Using the appropriate measure for your waffle maker, add batter to the waffle maker and proceed. Keep finished waffles warm on a rack in a 200-degree oven. These freeze well for weekday quick breakfasts or snacks. My waffle maker creates round waffles with four sections, easily broken into convenient snack bites.

The creativity starts here with your topics. Google for ideas or ask your best chef-friend. Buono appetito!

5 6 7 8
© 2004–2012 Donna Peach. All rights reserved.

One response to “waffle maker: my new toy and a recipe for you

  1. These sound so wonderful, Donna! As I was reading, I was amazed that you have the energy and manual dexterity to make waffles. The recipe has lots of steps, and you said it’s tiring, but there’s a freedom there for you as well.

    XOXOXO,
    Brenda

Leave a Reply

