oncology appointment, Xeloda break and upcoming Xgeva 18

While my feet and hands still sting somewhat, and my eyes are still watering to compensate for the dryness, it was a welcome break, day one of a week from chemo, and a long afternoon at the cancer center and at physical therapy. My oncologist is very busy this week with appointments backed up from her time away from the clinic while at the annual meeting of the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) last week. Aside from the great findings from T-DM1, which are very good news for the HER2-positive subgroup of the metastatic breast cancer community, not much new came down the pike for the others of us in the other subgroups.

My good news for now, to be yet confirmed by my tumor markers and other clinical indicators, is that it seems that the Xeloda® is working. This is based on the subjective indicators like my pain and discomfort and overall level of fatigue. I have been reluctant to discuss any of my subjective assessments as I have that little bit of superstition of fear of jinxing myself by speaking too soon. But, I have felt an improvement in comparison to the way I felt In December and January when the pain and discomfort along with the cancer fatigue were all quite strong. Now, it seems as though the pain and discomfort are decreased as well as the fatigue from the cancer, which somehow feels different to me than the fatigue from the chemo. Also, despite the hand-foot syndrome and the other side effects from the chemo, I feel a bit of strength in my body that had been waning through much of the winter months. We will wait one more month to test the clinical measures, and I will hope that what I am feeling is more than wishful thinking.

Tonight I am exhausted, however, as I spent the entire afternoon at the medical center, some of it sitting in the hot sun waiting for my next appointment and for my ride home. I forgot to eat before I left, too, so I was starving by the time I got home. All I want is to get some sleep tonight as I feel like I can hardly keep my head up. Yet, the excitement of sharing what seems to be good news that my treatment is working is more than enough to keep my spirits up for the rest of the evening.

 
5 6 7 8
© 2004–2012 Donna Peach. All rights reserved.
8 responses to “oncology appointment, Xeloda break and upcoming Xgeva 18

  1. I’m smiling…. and sending you G I A N T hugs….

    xoxox

  2. Rock on Donna. I’m SOOOOOOO glad! Reading every post.
    Love and BIG HUGS
    Elizabeth

  3. A bit is good news is always welcome.

  4. Continuing to keep my fingers crossed on this one, Donna.
    XOXOXO,
    Brenda

  5. Wishing such good things for you always, Donna.
    ~Sandy

  6. Congratulations, I hope your good news continues! You are an inspiration for me.

  7. Donna,

    I started xeloda two and a half weeks ago. This is my first week off. I am also having very dry eyes. Have you found anything that helps?

    Thanks
    Renee

  8. My brother recommended I might like this blog. He was entirely right. This post truly made my day. You cann’t imagine just how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

