time to dance on the hilltop

altered state of me / that’s how i think of cancer’s / all consuming grip 
wondering at night / as i try to fall asleep / where’s the next corner 
side effects and pain / fear and for some depression / tangle your whole life 
try to ignore it / maybe it will go away / if i ignore it 
or maybe at least / i can forget that it’s here / trying to rule me 
instead i dream that / i dance through fields on hilltops / like Sound of Music 
that’s where i go to / climb to the top and / turn and leap and roll 
i love it here and / i’ll return tonight when it’s / time for me to sleep 
 
♦     ♦     ♦     ♦     ♦  
5 6 7 8
© 2004–2012 Donna Peach. All rights reserved.
3 responses to “time to dance on the hilltop

  1. That brought tears to my eyes. You are always in my thoughts and prayers dear Lady! Please know I read your blog every night, even if I don’t post. Sleep well and dream of dancing!

  2. This made me cry, too. I’m here visiting with you every day. Lots of love and hugs to you…… Restful sleep and here’s to a great day tomorrow.

    xoxoxo

  3. This is so poignant, Donna. I love the image of dancing on the hilltop. I’m going to think about that (and you) when I can’t sleep. Hugs.

Leave a Reply

