Xeloda 4.8.6

My week on chemo was going really well until Thursday when the foot pain attacked. That seems to be the regular day, which is good because it gives me Monday through Wednesday without that searing pain. This time I did not wake up with it like I usually do, but during the day it started until about five o’clock the burning was in high gear. The peeling continues on both my hands and feet, and my skin on my hands is so tight I cannot open my hands fully. It almost feels like the skin is going to rip into pieces, so I don’t push it. I know that losing layers of skin is thinning out the top layers on my hands and feet, and I don’t want to aggravate any problems by making the skin split. The more severe pain from the hand-foot syndrome is in my feet with my hands feeling tight, itchy and burning but not as bad as the feet. 

So, I apply that greasy Aquaphor©, put on my socks and gloves and sit back and take it easy. At least television viewing is good this week with the Olympics, which I always enjoy watching. We are recording almost all of it, so I can watch some of my favorite events, like gymnastics, as often as I want. I am one of those people who would rather watch repeats of something I really enjoy than something I don’t even like. Between my naps and the Olympics, I am managing to get through this week of side effects. Trying as much as possible to avoid it, I just hate hobbling around with my walker when this pain hits.

5 6 7 8
© 2004–2012 Donna Peach. All rights reserved.
3 responses to “Xeloda 4.8.6

  1. Roni (RaptorRapture)

    You are an amazing woman! Always positive and always finding the pony in the room full of horse shit! I wish I could hug you, but know you are hugged from a distance anyway! In my thoughts for bright healing and peaceful days and nights.

  2. purdyfarmsbecky

    Oh dear Donna….I pray you have dreams of dancing tonight! You are such an inspiration to so many! Gentle hugs and love!
    Becky

  3. Hi Donna, I hope your treatments are soon over and these ugly side effects come to an end. (((hugs))) & hope always, ~Sandy

Leave a Reply

