ready as ever for tomorrow’s pleurodesis

I can feel the fluid in my lungs even more today than yesterday as it gets harder to walk a few steps without feeling breathless. The other symptoms that seem to accompany this condition are nausea and burping, probably from the pressure in the abdominal area. Hehe, I try to stifle the burping when I have company.

After going to the infusion center to have my port access installed for tomorrow (a wise precaution I have learned from experience), I spent the rest of the afternoon napping and trying to stay calm. For a while my breathing and nausea were rough, but they settled down so I could relax. I will be allowed to take my two blood pressure pills in the morning despite the fasting from midnight. My oncologist has instructed me to stop taking my Xeloda® during the surgery and recovery and to call her after I am back home. The procedure will be at 10:45 am, and I am required to be there two hours in advance. I understand the procedure time to be about two hours, and the pulmonologist said I would be released to either a regular room or an ICU room for monitoring. They will provide me with a PCA (patient-administered analgesic) pump for pain, which I understand follows the 48 hours after the surgery.

I have confidence in my pulmonology team, so I am comfortable with the surgery itself. I will be glad to be able to breathe again normally and to know that this should help stem recurrences of this nasty fluid build-up. I am also resigned to my one-step-at-a-time philosophy, so I am not thinking about what will come next. For now, I am concentrating on getting through the procedure and doing what I can to help heal as soon as possible.

I don’t know what my writing schedule will be for the next few days, though this is the first place I come when I need to deal with anything. Too bad I can’t take my iPad into the operating room where I could take some notes as we go through the paces.

Thank you for all the good wishes during this time. I will be thinking about your texts and notes and the huge group eCard from my wildlife chat room buddies as all of your thoughts and prayers give me strength and a sense of peace.

5 6 7 8
© 2004–2012 Donna Peach. All rights reserved.

 

15 responses to “ready as ever for tomorrow’s pleurodesis

  1. Wrapping you in love for tomorrow and for a speedy recovery from this surgery…. xoxox

  2. We will join hearts and hands and dance around you during your procedure tomorrow. You will be in my heart until I hear from you again. You are one hell of a Lady, Donna! I hope my eagle guides you thru the day!

  3. I have every confidence you will emerge from this procedure feeling so much better and glad you did it. We will all await news from you. In the meantime, we’re all sending love and prayers.
    Love,
    Brenda

  4. I have tears in my eyes reading your post tonight dear Lady. You are so strong, and such an inspiration to me to get up and at ’em every morning. I will be there tomorrow with Roni and others, joining my heart and hands and dancing around you. Wishing you dreams of dancing, and hoping you see us there with you. ♥

  5. I’m too wrapping you with love and positive thoughts…till I hear from you again Beautiful Lady! ((((HUGS))))!!

  6. Dear Donna, I have never been good with words. I just wanted to let you know I think of you every day and my thoughts will be with you tomorrow. Hug’s to you dear Donna.

  7. Wishing you all the best with the procedure…

  8. I, too, will be praying. You are a valiant warrior!

  9. Prayer, affirmation and love and blessings dear Donna! I’ll be “with you” from 10:30 AM and after… hugs…

  10. Dear Donna I wish you all the good luck of the world for toady {HUGS}

  11. I just recently found your blog…but sending peace and comfort and best health today.

  12. Please excuse my language but F**k cancer. I hate that you have to go through this. I hate that we can’t stamp this and all cancers out. I’m glad you have Marvin to love and support you. Chin up my lovely ( as high as you can lift it)

  13. Dearest Donna, so glad you have the strength to persevere one step at a time! We are praying for a comfortable and restful recovery for you after your procedure. I had fluid accumulate in the lungs (briefly) due to a dosage increase in my treatment for CML. It was frightening and uncomfortable to feel like I could not breathe whenever I lay down. I am so sorry you have had to put up with yet another physical trial. Godspeed and blessings on you! Rebecca, Jim and Emma

  14. Les and I are thinking of you also. Pray that you are feeling a bit better by today.

  15. My Dear Sis, so sorry you have to go through another surgery but I have great faith in you to win this battle again & succeed in eradicating this disease !!!! Looking forward to your more comfortable days so that we can get on with some fun plans such as chatting , visiting,etc.
    God Bless YOU !! LOVE, Angie

Leave a Reply

