Progress report pleurodesis day 17 rehab 8

Another day of training and closer to going home. After not feeling so terrific, I decided not to wait for Marvin but to drain my lung on my own. I kept the drain bag in place for most of the day, and, to my surprise, it seemed to keep draining, especially during my therapy sessions. This morning I don’t feel great for some reason bur hoping it will lift as the day progresses.

We had our regular aid back after a two-day break. I certainly appreciated her because she is very thorough and efficient and constantly checks on her patients to see if we need anything. We had a couple of other aids the last two days during Brenda’s break, and, though nice enough, they were usually unavailable. Not that I need much, but little things come up during the day that benefit from the help of an aid.

I met with the administrator and the therapy staff for evaluation. They seem to think I will be ready to go home at the designated time, after ten days. That was music to hear for sure. I don’t know yet whether that means they will release me Monday or Tuesday. I guess I will plan on Tuesday until I hear pleasantly otherwise.

Until then I am walking the hall from time to time, watching the San Diego panda cam, some television and just shuffling around my bed from time to time, biding my time and counting down the minutes.

5 6 7 8
© 2004–12 Donna Peach. All rights reserved.

7 responses to “Progress report pleurodesis day 17 rehab 8

  1. Sweet, sweet music to my ears….going home on Tuesday! Yahoo! Just think of it…good coffee! That alone should spur anyone on to reach new heights of wellness! Glad to hear you are on the path, sorry to hear you are a little puny last night and this morning. Perhaps you pushed a few steps too far? Perhaps it was the fluid that needed to be drained. In either case, let’s hope it’s short lived and you are feeling better by the time you read this! Hugs and music and dancing to you, Sweet lady!

  2. Yeah! Great news dear Lady! Am sending you strength, and my love and prayers. ♥

  3. G-ma MN (Jean) here from Decorah. Peeking in and so glad to hear home is soon where you will be again. That alone makes one get healthier quicker. Wonderful to hear you are on the upswing. Love to read about your “dancing” moves. My daughter who had just the tumor removed and radiation about five years ago loves to dance too. She is with a magnificent naturopath doctor now, bad part about that is insurance doesn’t cover them. Good luck, God bless, may your day get brighter and you find yourself at your own table, drinking home brewed coffee before you know it.

  4. Woo hoo…congrats to you! Would love to send you a card ~ tried to email you but your email was disabled…did you know?

  5. Every step counts and you are doing great steps. Keep up the good work and prayers are always there for you:)

  6. Donna, every day you sound better and better although I can tell this is no picnic. You are so amazing and such an inspiration. XoXoXoXo

  7. If there’s fluid there, it’s a good thing you’re moving about and it’s continuing to drain. The right nurses and therapists make all the difference, don’t they? Keep walking, keep moving forward, sweet lady. My fingers are crossed for Monday!
    XOXOXO,
    Brenda

Leave a Reply

