readmission UCIMC day 4

Every day seems to be a zig zag of ups and downs. One minute I seem to feel better, and the next I feel terrible. Yesterday, Marvin brought me a few things including my walker. We took a walk around the floor, and I did great. It felt really good, in fact.

We got back to the room, and he tucked me in and the nurses reconnected me to my new lung suction apparatus, which sounds like a bubbling waterfall. And Marvin left me sitting up in bed. Maybe twenty minutes later I started feeling lousy and my stats showed had a fever, not very high, in fact, 101.2, but I felt really bad. I was shivering and freezing and on the verge of nausea again. They gave me some Tylenol®, and I opted out on dinner which arrived right around this time. I did not feel like eating anything.

Soon the fever dropped, and all was fine the rest of the evening. They do not have any of the test results yet because so much happened over the weekend, but I expect we will have some news soon. They think I have an infection, a gram positive infection, which I understand could be MRSA. They don’t think, however, that my port is infected from the other indications. They think it could be a case of contamination.

Sleeping was not too bad, though after 3:30 am it seems that every half hour someone comes in to do something even though they tell me I should be able to get a little more sleep.

On of my oncologist’s colleagues came by this morning, along with the pulmonology fellow, and she said that they might want to give me the new treatment for the cancer while I’m here as soon as the infection situation sorts out.

For the moment I am feeling pretty good, sitting up in the chair and writing my post. I’m very weak, but I understand PT is coming to work with me sometime this morning. I will be grateful for any activity I can muster as I feel like a limp noodle.

My Internet connection is still uncooperative, so I will need to wait for my husband to come and let me use the hotspot he has on his iPhone.

5 6 7 8
© 2004–12 Donna Peach. All rights reserved.

11 responses to “readmission UCIMC day 4

  1. purdyfarmsbecky

    Sending you love and prayers dear Lady. I hope you have some more energy tomorrow. Dream of dancing! ♥

  2. Glad you were able to feel good moving around. So sorry about this set back. I pray that they find the cause soon and you are sprung out of there feeling so much better.

  3. Hey Sweet Lady, I know the fever is a worry but since it doesn’t hang around or get really high maybe that is a good sign. Hope they find the source so they can nip it in the butt really soon! I know you are working as much as you can to keep your strength up. Your system is so vulnerable to all germs because of all the treatments and surgery you have had, you would think that where ever you are, everyone would take that so needed extra caution when they are working/caring for you. I know they would want that if they were in your shoes. Still sending enormous amounts of positive energy to you, love and big hugs! Sweet dreams of music tonight and keep dancing!

  4. {Hugs} and prayers being said for you sweet lady. Feel stronger soon.

  5. Roni (RaptorRapture)

    MRSA? Hmmmm…and that is exactly why people hate being in the hospital anymore! You catch things that are resistant to drugs and that deplete your energy! Hopefully it is not MRSA, but something else that can be handled quickly and efficiently. Hoping the temp goes down the nausea goes away, you get up and running the halls tomorrow and move towards a reunion with your own bed at home! In the meantime, hugs to you…..

  6. My Dear Donna,
    You are one tough, lovely woman. I think of you so often as I go about my day, wondering what’s happening there.

    Just got back from my Bible study group in town, which is about 45 minutes from here. When I turn off the freeway, my road begins to twist and turn, all the while climbing in altitude, not a lot, but enough that I need to clear my ears. I have to be careful in the dark. There are lots of deer and rabbits along the side of the road. You’d think they’d know not to jump out in front of a car. Tonight I saw lots of pairs of eyes looking at me. I love being out here, in the middle of nowhere. The stars are so big and bright.

    Hope you get a good night’s sleep.
    XOXOXO,
    Brenda

  7. You are my favorite limp noodle, Donna. *_*

  8. Sweet Donna,

    I hope you get some uninterrupted rest this evening…. I will continue to hold you close as they sort all of this out. Wishing for a better tomorrow. A bit more strength, a bit more internet and lots of hugs….

    xoxoxox
    AnneMarie

  9. Hold your strength and all the love that is coming your way dear Donna, and thanks for putting up with, and working around, the internet frustration in order to give to US. We look forward to your updates, and appreciate how difficult it can be to share! Loving you so much. Christy

  10. I hope you got some quality sleep. There is so much going on and I am so appreciative of every update. Please know I am sending my good intentions and thoughts with prayers to you…XoXoXo

  11. I’m so impressed with you on your walker and doing PT…good job! Praying for relaxing sleep and sending cyber (((((hugs)))))

Leave a Reply

