midnight trip to UCIMC emergency room

Last night as I was getting ready for bed a bit later than usual, I noticed the wound from my pleurodesis surgery on 9-15-12 was burning and stinging. I had not felt this before. Marvin looked at it and said it looked a bit angry with red and perhaps some discharge, so it was up and out to the emergency room at UCIMC. After treatment, removing the stitches that seemed to be irritating the skin and getting a little infected, the doctor sent me home where we arrived around 3:00 am. I was overtired and could not fall asleep after that until after 4:00 for some reason, so today I am dragging. I have been napping off and on all day.

I still seem to be running a fever of about 100.6 or so in the afternoon. I take Tylenol®, which usually helps, except this afternoon I don’t know what’s going on. It seems to be climbing still. Marvin is taking a nap, and I am applying some cool compresses to try to control this stupid fever.

I just want to get this whole infection under control so I can start feeling better and regaining my endurance. This truly sucks.

Today is National Metastatic Breast Cancer Day. If you are looking for a place to donate money, my suggestion is METAvivor who donates funding solely to research for metastatic breast cancer, the only such organization. Other organizations barely recognize metastatic breast cancer, let alone fund MBC research. Even organizations that are responsible in donating to breast cancer in a significant way do not target MBC. That is my choice since it is the only form of breast cancer that kills, and for those of us fighting for our lives, it is an organization we know is true to its cause.

5 6 7 8
© 2004–12 Donna Peach. All rights reserved.
12 responses to “midnight trip to UCIMC emergency room

  1. You need a break! That’s all there is to it!
    Sending prayers & lots of love,
    Brenda

  2. Hang in there dear Lady. Hope the fever goes down soon, and you can get some good restful sleep. Sending you my love and prayers. Wishing you dreams of dancing! ♥

  3. It will get better, It must get better (((hug)))

  4. This truly does suck and you are way over due for a break, something positive. Did they give you any type antibiotic for the infection? Hope tonight will be a better night for you….Sending lots of positive energy, thoughts, love and hugs as always!

  5. Donna,
    There is too much coming your way in waves. I hate reading this. I hope the fever breaks. I’m thinking of you today (I think of you EVERY day, but especially today)…. And yes, I’m promoting METAvivor every chance I get. MUCH love to you,
    AnneMarie

  6. Amen to Brenda’s comment. You need a break!

  7. Wish there was a way that we each could carry just a small portion of your burden. Prayers, prayers, and more prayers with many HUGS:)

  8. It’s just kind of the last straw.

  9. Donna,
    Doesn’t it suck when everyone is telling you to be strong? And…isn’t that what you’ve been doing all along? I know, I get it…and I know how hard it must be at 3am. well…it is what it is…I guess, well ya just “keep on keepin’ on” so we (or you) push on…and keep the faith. I am still with you. Much love and prayers,
    joey~

  10. Ditto Connie, if only—– We wish.

  11. Hope the fever breaks soon so you can relax. This is good information to know about METAvivor. I hope you get some much needed rest tonight. Hug’s to you and Marvin

  12. I just read this the next morning and I hope by today the fever has returned to normal and you can get some rest as well. With respect to yesterday and it being MBC awareness day (should be all month-at least), I put Metavivor info on Facebook and Twitter for the free donations as well as donated on top of it. It is one of the best organizations to donate to and I thank you for reminding us. Hugs and prayers to you Donna. XoXoXo-Susan

Leave a Reply

