happy dancing feet

With the feet and hands having suffered from hand-foot syndrome from Xeloda®, I have avoided going for pedicures and manicures. My feet have been in terrible shape with the skin being fragile and thin as layers peeled away over the weeks. I was nervous about going to a spa where sometimes the pedicurists are not as careful as they might need to be with someone who has physical issues.

Today I went to a podiatrist, and after returning home, my niece, who is visiting from Michigan, painted my nails. I now have happy and nearly pretty feet again, feet worthy of a little barefoot dancing. It has been a long time since I have had such well-groomed tootsies.

On the way home we stopped at one of my favorite spots in Long Beach: the marina, where we sat for a while and enjoyed watching the pelicans and seagulls dive for food. The water was very choppy as we had a very strong wind today. The weather is changing from a previous heat spell that brought us temperatures around ninety to today’s mid-seventies, and with the change came an early marine layer this afternoon and the earlier wind. I love being outside and really enjoyed our trip to a destination other than the medical center.

5 6 7 8
© 2004–12 Donna Peach. All rights reserved.
12 responses to “happy dancing feet

  1. Roni (RaptorRapture)

    Well, sounds like good news, good trip, good outcome, and great looking nails! Glad you have your niece there and it appears the weather was on your side. Hugs to you. You brightened my day!

  2. So happy to hear you got out and had fun! What a beautiful picture of two beautiful ladies! Sending you my love and prayers! Wishing you dreams of dancing with your new tootsies! ♥

  3. Nothing like a little pampering to bring the spirit up a bit:) You deserve as much of it as you can possibly get. I’m sure it was a great ‘pick me up’ 🙂

  4. I’m so happy to read this, Donna. Hard earned and WELL deserved lovely day…

    xoxox

  5. Sounds like a wonderful day.

  6. How wonderful to see your beautiful smiles! It does the soul wonders to get outdoors and enjoy the fresh air and see some of the gifts of nature. And getting pampered helps too! You are thought of many times a day and each time, a prayer goes up for your greatest need. Bless you dear one!

  7. SO GLAD TO READ ABOUT YOUR WONDERFUL DAY i THINK ABOUT YOU SO OFTEN YOU ARE NUMBER 1 ON MY LIST OF PEOPLE TO ADMIRE.PRAY THAT YOU HAVE MANY MORE WONDERFUL DAYS
    ruth [from decorah site]

  8. dear donna,

    i have been following your (epic) saga of the last several weeks, and am thrilled for this fabulous news. i love seeing your happy, smiling face and will continue to send powerful vibes that all becomes better and better for you. you DESERVE it!!!

    love,

    karen, TC

  9. Isn’t it wonderful to have such a nice day. i would love to live close to the ocean again, ( I was in San Clemente before I had to move to the desert with my Mom) I love that crisp, cool ocean air and the marine layer. I recently had a Mani/pedi at a Beauty School and told them to be extra gentle. They were very good, It took a little longer than at a shop but was pleasant and inexpensive, I do know that the American Cancer Society has recommendations for places that cater to cancer patients too. Enjoy your weekend.

  10. So nice to see the lovely photo of you and your darling niece. It makes my heart dance hearing the fun you had with your niece it’s so nice to have a afternoon like that. It always feels so… good to have nice toes what a sweet thing for her to do . Love and hug’s to you.

  11. What a happy day and so nice to see that beautiful smile and hear about those happy dancing feet! I am so glad you got to enjoy the day and your niece. XoXoXo

Leave a Reply

