UPDATE mystery continues and more fevers

I can hardly keep up with all the ideas coming and going about my fevers, so I will report only the latest. Because I had such a severe reaction within the hour after they removed my pleural tube yesterday, infectious diseases wanted pulmonology to do another thoracentesis into the remaining fluid in my lung to find out whether that fluid is infected. Because it is contained in a blocked off space, the drugs they are giving me to treat an infection will not reach that loculated area.

So as I sat here getting my early afternoon fever and chills, a transport staff person came by to take me to pulmonary radiation. I had not heard that I was going for this procedure, but he assured me it was going to happen. I was feeling so lousy from the fever, he transported me in my bed. By the time I was at the pulmonology procedure room, however, my fever started to break and I felt better.

The procedure went smoothly. I could feel only the prick of the needle as the fellow inserted the numbing anesthetic. After that, the needle for the thoracentesis and biopsy felt more like a pressure, though not too uncomfortable, than anything else. It took about fifteen minutes, and I was back in my room soon after.

The other issue that has been coming up is that after they give me the azactam, I itch all over. They are giving me Benadryl®, which, thank goodness, is working so far.

Currently, I am taking Vancomycin as an infusion and in liquid form for the c Diff, azactam, and Flagyl®. I wonder with all of these antibiotics in me how anything could possibly grow.

Will report back on the lung fluid test results. I can hardly keep my eyes open so it’s nap time again, I fear..

5 6 7 8
© 2004–12 Donna Peach. All rights reserved.

14 responses to “UPDATE mystery continues and more fevers

  1. Donna,
    I am SO sad that you are on a roller coaster. Seems like every time you turn around, something else is happening. I think of you every single day.
    Don’t know what else to say except, I’m listening….
    With love,

    AnneMarie

  2. dear precious Donna we will continue calling out your
    name to our great GOD

  3. HUGS and lots of PRAYERS. You have been thru so much and continue to fight. You are in my thoughts a great deal. Keep up the fight and we all are praying for you.

  4. Roni (RaptorRapture)

    You certainly know how to keep a day full of activities, don’t you? Hope you can get some rest and that they finally do figure out the who, what, where, when and why of it all. Sleep and dream of dances that are on point, fluffy tutus and beautiful music. Hugs…very very gently!

  5. Hope you get a nice nap dear Lady. Sending my love and prayers! ♥

  6. Peace to you….

  7. Wow Donna, I can’t keep up either. They are really putting you through a lot. I hope they get to the bottom of this. What a time for a lovely nap. Sleep. Rest. Relax. Hugs and prayers. Love, Susan

  8. I’m so sorry that you have been through all this up and down, knowing and not knowing…rest, hugs to you and your honey….

  9. Well, with all the proding and poking they are doing, an answer surely must present itsself soon. I am just so sorry you are having to go through all this – sure wish I could help you in some way. But, you have my moral support.
    You certainly have a lot of friends, dear lady, and I am honored to be among them. Even though we have not personally met, our souls are together in our Cottonwood Tree! May the Lord bless you, dear Donna!

  10. Love and hug’s Donna, I hate that you have to go through all of this, but I love that you take the time to share with us. You really are such a courageous, wonderful person.

  11. BreastCancerSisterhood

    You are close in my thoughts so many times each day, and in my prayers as well.
    XOXOXO,
    Brenda

  12. Things just should be easier. Since they aren’t, I pray that we may be the wind beneath your wings. ❤

  13. Always whispering your name to almighty God, you are a brave woman
    what you are going through it is also for us ………….Can’t find words to
    express how strong u r to keep us up to date on procedures.. (:

  14. As always keeping you close to my heart and in my thoughts…strong positive energy for you along with love and hugs…wish I could do more!!

Leave a Reply

