UPDATE second day fairly stable

Although I awoke with some shortness of breath, I went for a decent walk, 300 feet, with the physical therapist and still felt good enough to sit up in the chair afterward in my room after she left. Infectious diseases told me that they are all still waiting for the final results of the cultures from my lung fluid, but so far results have been negative. This morning I also awoke with a 38.2 C fever, higher than my usual morning temperature.

On a separate note in my blood and the lung catheter they did find a staph bug: staphylococcus lugdunensis. The ID doctor said it’s a fairly insidious bacteria, but the Vancomycin® was an appropriate drug to treat it. Vanco also treats c diff, which I also have and seems to be improving. I am actually taking two forms of Vanco: one by infusion and one by liquid oral medicine (nasty stuff). I think I mentioned that the Azactam® was discontinued, along with the Benadryl® that helped control the itching that it caused. I am eating yogurt at every meal, finally remembering to order it each time. I hope it will help rebuild my stores of good bacteria. And, yes, my doctors are very supportive here of complementary modalities.

I will be going for an abdominal CT contrast scan later this afternoon after I drink some stuff that I’m guessing will taste nothing like a pineapple smoothie, which sounds good to me at the moment for some reason. Until then I am on nothing-by-mouth orders (NPO). If that is negative and all else goes well, they will release me tomorrow to go home.

5 6 7 8
© 2004–12 Donna Peach. All rights reserved.

12 responses to “UPDATE second day fairly stable

  1. I’m thinking POSITIVE PACK UP YOU ARE GOING HOME

  2. My darling friend,
    I’m with Ruth on this one: It’s way past time for you to get out of there & go home! Fingers crossed. In the meantime, I’m sending love and prayers,
    Brenda

  3. Sound’s great Donna, I will keep my fingers crossed, say my prayers and sending my best wishes,that you are released to go home tomorrow! You really did some moving around today good for you. It probably feels pretty good now that you are feeling a bit better. Glad your eating the yogurt. I do believe your going home. Yeah. Love and hug’s

  4. Sure am hoping everything turns out ok so you can get out of there and get your pineapple smoothie. Got me wanting one now, lol. Take care Dancing Lady!

  5. Maybe we all will have a great big reason for ‘Thanksgiving’ day!! Prayers that you will be on your way home soon.

  6. Keep on keeping on. You are moving in the right direction—
    Home Sweet Home! 5 6 7 8

  7. So hoping you can go home tomorrow! Sending my love and prayers to you dear Lady! ♥

  8. Continued prayers for you, sweet lady. I hope they are getting a handle on what’s plagueing you.

  9. Glad your ride still seems steady for you….fever still there but not as high as it has been…first time in a while that you have had a break and things seem to be looking up! Hoping you will be able to go home soon and maybe a pineapple smoothie in the future. Rest well tonight with dreams of soothing music and dancing! Yeah for the yogurt, need some good bugs in that tummy of yours. Tons of love, positive energy, good vibes, hugs and smile coming to you Sweet Lady! ♥♥♥♥♥♥

  10. Oh Donna, that would be great if they release you and you can get to go home for Thanksgiving. I’m glad to hear the news these past 2 days of your energy picking up, that’s a good sign. I think that will have an overall effect on all healings in your body. Keeping you in my thoughts and prayers.
    B-well,
    joey
    ps~ That pineapple smoothie would be nice with a shot or rum in it!! 🙂

  11. The stuff u drink before the CT scan is nothing. I dreaded it and dreadedit and then was mad no one told me it was nothing. I think I mixed it with ginger ale. Hope all is better tomorrow.

  12. On your side…..

Leave a Reply

