temperature monitoring and itching

My temperature again seems to be normal, except following last evening’s Vancomycin® infusion, during which time it rose to around 100.0 and maintained for a few hours. By the time I went to sleep last night, however, the temperature was back to normal like it had been earlier during the day. This is interesting. Today my home health care nurse will come to get blood cultures to monitor the amount of Vancomycin in my system, a necessary part of treatment with this antibiotic. When she comes, it will be interesting to see what my temperature is at that time.

I had been having pretty severe swelling in my feet and left hand during my treatment with the Vancomycin, but today that seems to have diminished a bit. It is the first day my hand does not look like a balloon, even though it is still a bit puffy. I have three more infusions, as far as I know, and the treatment will be completed. I will keep my fingers crossed that the port was the culprit and that all infection will be gone now.

My family got me some Benadryl® as I have been having some random overall itching that seems to benefit from the Benadryl. I seem to get that in the evening, so I think it might also be related to the Vancomycin, which I infuse early evening. I thought I had a couple of hives here and there but nothing significant that would require my stopping the treatment. Plus, the Benadryl seems to help with the itching, even where I have the plastic tape over my PICC line and the wound from removal of the port. They often put paper tape on me, but that does not really hold well long term. If they change the dressing frequently, it seems to help, though the port wound dressing is on for ten days. I think I can bear it until this Friday when I go for follow-up.

In the meantime I walked about four times back and forth in the loft, not a lot really but more than just lying in bed, which I am trying to keep to a minimum. Even sitting up at the computer is better since I sit straight up, and it gives gravity a chance to expand my lungs a little more. Time now for a break.

5 6 7 8
© 2004–12 Donna Peach. All rights reserved.
10 responses to “temperature monitoring and itching

  1. Glad to read you are feeling a bit better, and the Benadryl is working! That stuff really makes me tired, but stops the itching. Sending you my love and prayers! ♥

  2. Things sound much more positive. Keep up the good fight. Prayers as always.

  3. I don’t know how you handle the Benadryl, that shit knocks me right out, and BIG time but you’re lucky if you can take it because it really does work. So many ups and downs but keep your thoughts forward and imagine a healthy peach, ripe, colorful and juicy! I don’t know what else to say but I’m keeping you in my thoughts and prayers. I believe all the people sending good vibes your way help to open the healing channels. Remember what Mama said…”Slow and steady wins the race”. Hope you’re feeling better soon.
    Peace and love,
    joey

  4. So glad things are looking up.Was a good day at our new Florida Eagle site
    Mama laid an egg everyone excited .and we are excited that you are doing well again.will continue to call out your name
    we love you peachy girl

  5. Hi Donna, Every little positive is “huge”. So glad to hear them.
    Hugs & hope~Sandy

  6. Sounds like a pretty good day Donna… glad you were able to walk some and find sitting at the computer better than lying flat down for the coughing spells! I presume your family members have gone home but maybe not. If they are from the north (Detroit?), the CA weather is a nice change. Thoughts and prayer and love and hugs… more reports to write! UGH, I always avoid them!

  7. Great to hear that you are managing short walks Donna. I always felt a sense of achievement even if I only took ONE walk. It made me smile when I read about the Benadryl though, because I sent my husband to get it so often that the pharmacist knew when he saw him walk through the door what he was there for. It certainly takes the edge of those side effects. Glad the swelling has gone down too. Thinking about you and looking forward to reading abut your continued progress. Lots of love x

  8. The walking back and forth sounds like a step in the right direction.No amount is to little. Glad the temp is down for the most part. That must make you feel better in general. Keep drinking that water! Hug’s and Love to you!

  9. I always have benedryl on hand for itching etc. Why is it everything we take seems to cause swelling. It makes you want to scream sometimes. Glad you are moving around a bit. Hugs as always

  10. Pingback: girls boot

Leave a Reply

