preparation for chemo tomorrow

I took it easy today because tomorrow I am resuming my chemo and also have an appointment at the medical center early at eight o’clock, a time that no longer resonates well with my energy levels. I used to be an up-and-at-’em-early woman, but those days seem far in my distant past. Now, I crawl around here like a slug until around nine or ten. It will be an interesting morning, to say the least.

Finally, I am able to make myself something quick, like soup, in the microwave, so I managed that today. I figured the liquid meal would do me good for my continued attempts to hydrate myself. This is quite an accomplishment because all of the wobbling around up to this point has made it a big risk to do anything at the kitchen counter while standing up. Today I managed that, with the heavy breathing, of course, but I managed it nonetheless. Every little step means something to me at this point. I am still quite short of breath when I do anything more than a few steps, so I am not sure I am going to be able to walk into the infusion center tomorrow. We will see, and, as always, I am not unwilling to try.

No other news except that the regular visits with my home health care nurse are going well twice a week. She takes good care of me, and the company is very efficient in getting the supplies delivered to me on time. I was glad that the hospital staff took my advice this time and recalled the same service that I had previously. It is nice to feel comfortable with people who are coming into one’s home to deliver care.

Our weather continues to be dreary with a rain system hanging over us for a few days, making it cooler and wetter than normal. It doesn’t affect me much as I am inside, anyway. I did not hear the pleasant pitter patter of the rain today on our roof and skylights, though, so I don’t think it rained that much.

5 6 7 8
© 2004–12 Donna Peach. All rights reserved.
12 responses to “preparation for chemo tomorrow

  1. Will be keeping you in my thoughts and prayers tomorrow. I am glad you have people you are comfortable with and that you had such a successful day. Take care Dancing Lady!

  2. Dear Lady….Sending you my love and prayers for tomorrow and always. Wishing you dreams of dancing! ♥

  3. Prayers as always but especially for tomorrow. Keep your chin up and keep that ‘can do’ spirit. You are an amazing lady 🙂

  4. Praying tonight and tomorrow for a strong medical support staff that is filled with tons of compassion and common sense. Also praying that your body will remember and draw from the memories of childhood play days. You are a blessing!!!

  5. Sounds to me like someone is working hard toward getting her strength back. Good girl. And soup is great for hydration as long as there isn’t too much salt in it. But eat and drink what you can…it’s all good. Never mind the calories now. You need them all. Hugs and love and owl wings and eagles to guide you.

  6. I think your recovery is moving along. Keep the fluids going and a positive attitude for the resumption of chemo. On to the belly of the beast where you shall dance with joy and sunlight and defeat it!! Many healing eagle wing hugs coming your way ♥♥♥

  7. Thinking of you as usual.

  8. will have you in my thoughts keep strong will continue to bring your name before the LORD .. love you peachy lady

  9. So glad you got that infectious thingy out of your body Donna! What a mean monster it was. Nice to stand and heat soup and walk a bit! Blessings and prayer tomorrow as you get back on the chemo.. my heart is with you… ♥

  10. I am an early riser but never.. do I like to be out the door and to an appointment at 8:00 AM. Sorry that you have to do that. A day does not go by Donna that I don’t think about you. Thank you for sharing with me your experience, I am humbled my your strength and courage and send love and hug’s to you.

  11. I’m so glad you are home! Thinking of you!

  12. Donna, I am so happy you are home. I hope that you are at peace today and whatever comes tomorrow is the best possible choice for your care. I continue to send you my loving thoughts and prayers. Your beautiful spirit continues to shine each day and I am humbled by your incredible resolve. Hugs and XoXoXo-Susan

Leave a Reply

