exercise routine, if you can call it that

One of my Facebook friends posted about a new year’s resolution to perform a series of some 50 to 80 squats every day. During my active dancing and teaching days, this would not be out of range. I had to laugh now, however, because I have been trying to do squats to regain some strength in my legs, and the most I can do before collapsing is 10. These squats are, for safety, with a chair in case my legs give out, and, as of the last day or so, go to a position with my thighs parallel to the floor. I can tell you that I am working very hard to do these, but it has been over a week without one missed day.

The recent hospitalizations, infections and antibiotics took so much strength from me that some days have been scary. I have been very careful at home, especially when I am alone, to walk with my walker in case I become wobbly. Before that procedure in September, I was able to walk in my place without the assistance of my walker. I was also choreographing dances that I could manage with or without the walker, depending on how strong I felt on a given day. After the complications and hospitalizations, I came home feeling as weak as I have ever felt. I don’t even allow myself to think about it as I want to get past this period with the hope, and my exercises, that I will regain some strength.

Now, although I am not walking at all on the treadmill for my minute-at-a-time workout, I am walking very short distances with and without the walker as of a couple of days ago. I am hoping to work on climbing the stairs at some point, but I will wait on that exercise until the squats yield some benefit.

5 6 7 8
© 2004–2013 Donna Peach. All rights reserved.
10 responses to “exercise routine, if you can call it that

  1. Sounds like you are on track to get stronger every day. Hoping the holidays were restful and re-energizing for you Donna. Prayers as you work hard to continue to improve your stamina. {HUGS}

  2. It seems you are on the right path dear Lady! Sending you my love and prayers. Hope you get stronger everyday. ♥

  3. Donna, it is about thinking positive and doing something about it! You are doing awesome! I love it!

  4. We do what we can. Sounds like you’re doing great!

  5. 10 squats is 10 more than I do in a day! you amaze me greatly! Seems the only squats I manage in a day are those that involve porcelain fixtures! You are a marvel and in my heart!

  6. squats? I couldn’t do one for a million dollars. Have you tried some basic balance and stability exercises as well? You might try googling them or ask a PT. More power to you if you can do squats!

  7. I had to laugh I can’t do over five squats and I think I’m in good health but I can walk 3miles none stop.but not uphill. keep it up peachy Lady

  8. Keep squatting! Every “squat” my knee (one or the other) pops really loud but it doesn’t hurt. I will try to join you each day!

  9. Betsy Appleton////////Decorah Eagle

    Hello Dear Lady,,Seems to me that the squat is the way to go…Please be careful though…Prayers to you today and everyday…..

  10. Very good Donna! One day at a time and you will regain your strength, as you already know. Keep up the good work.Best to you.

Leave a Reply

