two more visits for blood draws

After my trip to UCIMC and return home, the oncology staff called me to tell me that my potassium level was high and that I should discontinue taking the supplement that I had started taking while in the hospital. This morning I received another call from my oncology office. My oncologist wanted me to get another blood test today to see what was happening with the potassium. I managed to make it for another test before noon.

I don’t know how long afterward it was I got yet another call from my oncology office with news that the blood sample had hemolyzed, so the lab could not run the test on the blood. They wanted me to get yet another test. Apparently, a high potassium level can adversely affect the heart. My oncology nurse, of course, asked me how I was feeling and whether I had been having sensations of fast heartbeat or shortness of breath, to which she added that I should go to the ER if so. I managed again a trip, this time to a local lab in Long Beach, where they did the blood draw.

Interestingly, while I was at the lab, one of the technicians remarked, to my comment about the elevated potassium level, that sometimes when they take the blood with a butterfly needle, the potassium reads high. I did not get into a discussion with her about this, but I am wondering now if that might partly be responsible for the elevated reading. Of course, if my body no longer needs the potassium supplement, which it did while I was having all those complications while in the hospital, that could also be part of the problem. In any case, I’m keeping watch for symptoms and just taking it easy for the rest of the afternoon.

5 6 7 8
© 2004–2013 Donna Peach. All rights reserved.
3 responses to “two more visits for blood draws

  1. Betsy Appleton////////Decorah Eagle

    Hello Donna,,I think you and I have the same potassium thing going on…Too much and then Not enough,,The feeling of no control gets me the most..Now REST, it’s great you can get out but please take care too…God Bless,,sweet eagle dreams too

  2. Wow that’s a lot of trips for blood draws although I understand how important it is to keep your potassium levels right. That’s interesting about the butterfly and good to know. Hugs and XoXoXo – Susan

  3. Donna, the poking for blood never ends, does it? {{{HUGS}} and hope that you continue to gain strength and feel better. GailWA

Leave a Reply

