Keeping the Vision Alive

Donna put a lot of love and hard work into her writing. And she loved this blog and the people who took the time to read it. It was her goal to bring information that would help those living with cancer and those who cared for them. I promised her that I would find a way to keep this blog alive.

Now I’m turning to you to help me. I need suggestions on how to keep it going in the same spirit it lived through Donna.

I’ll throw my thought out there first. that would be to have guest writers.

There was a format that Donna and I thought was important when she wrote here.

1. Can never be a “poor me” blog.

2. Each entry can not be longer that someone going through chemo can focus on.  If the entry is long, it will need to be broken into parts. If you have chemo brain, then you know it’s hard to focus for long periods of time.

3. It must be informative. Reader should come away with new knowledge. And that means you need to be able to take a complex subject and translate it so the rest of us can understand.

4. No snake doctor reamities. Only real medical science and research please.

5. If all else fails, throw in some poetry.

These are my suggestions. Please let me know yours.

Marvin (Don)

11 responses to “Keeping the Vision Alive

  1. I think keeping it going will be helpful to many. I know myself I finally had a mammogram done, and am 2 weeks post surgery for removal of, thankfully, non-malignant tumors. But I thought of Donna the whole time i was trying to decide what to do. If people can write and feel they have a forum, I say let it stay.

  2. Don, the five ground rules listed are a good strong foundation for keeping the integrity of the blog and steering the ship on a consistent course. If that was Donna’s list of guidelines, then I say, keep them.

  3. Betsy Appleton////////Decorah Eagle

    What a great thing you are doing Marvin! This blog will help a lot of people. The information that is here already has taught me much and now that I might be going down this path it makes me see that we are together in friendship and knowlage…Thanks Marvin Betsy

  4. Hey Marvin, I’d like to see about adding a medical resource for Donna’s blog.

    dailyRx.com/conditions/breast-cancer

    I think this could be of some help to those who rely on this blog for up-to-date breast cancer news and research.

  5. Don, I have been fortunate to have not had to deal with cancer of any kind – at least not yet – but this has been such a detailed and helpful blog that I hope you can keep it going. All the writings should be shared for as long as possible, not only for all the helpful advice, but for her personality and the activities she was involved in. Those stories were uplifting to everyone and were examples of how to deal with the intricacies of daily life in the midst of this disease. Donna and I worked together when we both lived in Austin, and reconnected years later. She was extremely gifted, and had such an engaging personality that everyone was drawn to her. I think of her often.

  6. There are many cancer blogs that serve as excellent resources, Donna’s being one of the best, but one thing that could never be replaced is her own voice, which made her blog so special. Her Haiku was incredible. This is just my opinion, Marvin, but I’m probably not alone when I say it would be great to hear about from your viewpoint as one who took care of her and loved her dearly. That is, if you feel you want to go there. One of the compelling points about Donna’s blog was the loving relationship you had with each other.

  7. I agree with Eileen. Donna’s blog was always a great clearinghouse for information on drugs, side effects and so forth, (and that needs to be maintained) but your relationship was a big part of her success. Can you tell us more about losing her. If not the emotional aspect, tell us about the practical stuff that our partners will have to handle one day, the paperwork you mentioned

    Is there more poetry from Donna? Even reposting old Haiku would be terrific. I’d love to see that in my blog feed.

    All the best to you!

  8. I think guest posts would be terrific – and the original guidelines are perfect. Donna’s sweet blogging voice can never be duplicated, but her desire to get out information and comfort and resources can still be achieved with guest posts. Plus every new visitor gains access to all her well thought out links. And, I agree, many of us would love to hear your point of view as her loving husband. Bless you for wanting to keep the blog alive.

  9. Mavin,

    I hope you get this note. I wanted to share two things. First, I’m so glad this site is still here. Thank you for keeping it up and thereby keeping Donna’s memory alive for our online breast cancer community!

    Second, I don’t know if you remember me, but I was one of the women who you and Donna schlepped to meet at Farmer’s Market last year. I have the opportunity to share the memory of someone at an upcoming event and I’d like to share Donna’s story. I’d love to get your okay, and even a photo, if that’s possible. You can reach me at regrounding@yahoo.com.

    Thanks in advance,
    Lori Marx-Rubiner

  10. Donna embraced life, and faced death with strength and courage. She was one of the most interesting people I have ever met. Unforgettable.

Leave a comment